Catechism 24

Eden and I were working on her homework from Providence Hall and part of the assignment was to decorate a set of counting bears. Eden was thrilled with the art aspect of this task and asked me if she could color one of the teddy bears in a rainbow fashion. I told her absolutely yes and she proceeded to decorate the teddy bear in a splendor of colors. As she was working, I asked her if she remembered why the rainbow was significant in God’s Word. She readily replied that it was God’s promise to never flood the world again. I wanted her to key in on the word “covenant” and know that a covenant was a promise. So I added emphatically, “The rainbow is God’s covenant. Do you know what a covenant is, Eden?”

I was fully hoping that she would then tell me a covenant was a promise but I could have never anticipated her fruitful reply: “A covenant is a relationship that God establishes with us and guarantees by His word.”

Oh my gosh! Catechism number 24 and we were not even working on those. More than merely memorizing- those words have been written in her heart and applied in another topic of conversation. I couldn’t be more pleased!